Farming Exotic Leather: Dread Wastes

Busybusybusy gearing up for raiding, getting achievements and so on, but I’ll just leave this here – hopefully before one of the spots I’m mentioning gets nerfed to oblivion.

I was leveling my hunter’s engineering and decided to be stubborn – rather than making 1281627891693 Thermal Anvils, I wanted to at least craft something useful. So I made some guns for when I feel like leveling both her and my other hunter (and the third one I’m planning to create), and then I decided to make the Pandaria Wormhole Generator, because yay for engineering teleporters! Except to make that, I needed two Spirits of Harmony, and I didn’t have any. Bugger.

I was going to just take the hunter to Jade Forest and kill some things, since she’s still lvl85, but the boyfriend was going to do his Klaxxi dailies, so I figured I’d tag along and do the you-kill-I-loot thing in case he got any motes to drop.

I didn’t find very many motes (ended up farming those in Valley of the Four Winds by myself), but the hunter’s a skinner, so here’s what I found…

The yellow and the green locations are places for daily quests. Yellow has Greatback Mushan (and, a bit further off to the side, Dreadspinner Tenders); green has Chillwater Turtles and Horrorscale Scorpids (and, a bit further south, Ik’thik Amberstingers). People kill them for Klaxxi dailies, and they’re skinnable, and since the quest items aren’t a 100% drop, there’s piles and piles and piles of bodies. I seriously couldn’t skin fast enough.

Once we were done with the dailies, I still didn’t have enough motes, so off we went to see if we could find a suitable place for AoE farming, because hey, why not. Going mostly at random, we found the third area on the map.

The red area is special. It has Ruby Venomtails – normal mobs that you can kill and skin – and, more importantly, they have Dread Scarabs. The latter come in packs of 5-6, have around 40k health each, die in 2-3 hits even to my lvl85 hunter… and each of them skins into 1-6 Exotic Leather, with the usual chance at Plump Intestines. In other words, they’re Deepholm Stone Bats v2.0.

Considering how quickly the Deepholm bats got nerfed, I would suggest heading there sooner rather than later if you want to get some farming in. Not that it takes much leather at all to cap leatherworking these days, but still.

Leave a Reply

