Last night in Deepholm…

So I’ve been leveling a shaman alt together with Alieth, who is leveling a mage alt. Both characters were boosted to 80 by a conveniently-placed Scroll of Resurrection (we had the old accounts, we wanted the mount for our mains, might as well get the freebie characters as well). We’ve been mostly leveling through dungeons, but since neither of us plans to level inscription on these particular alts, we took a break to go quest through Deepholm.

So that’s what we were doing last night. As we were flying back and forth from the Temple of Earth, as one does while questing in Deepholm, and I said, “Wouldn’t it be funny if we ran right into Aeonaxx?”

Alieth’s response was “Yeah, right.”

(I have the mount on my main, and so does Alieth, so running into Aeonaxx wouldn’t be a cause of “gah, why am I not on my main” hair-tearing.)

Fast-forward to about half an hour later. We’re in the Temple of Earth, doing the final quest, in the middle of killing High Priestess Lorthuna, and NPCScan goes off.

_NPCScan: Found “Aeonaxx”!

We look at each other. I say, “Why are you still here? Invis and go. Just GO.”

“I’m going, I’m going!”

(Even if I didn’t love him, I would’ve let him take it anyway. Since we’d been mostly doing dungeons, I only had one spec, and it was resto. Tiny little 5k damage lightning bolts aren’t terribly effective.)

Level 83 frost mage versus level 85 elite Aeonaxx took a bit, but eventually he went down, and Alieth’s pretty purple-haired night elf mage got a pretty purple drake to match.

A little while later, we’re puttering around doing the Therazane dailies, because they give experience and we want the reputation so hey, why not? One of the dailies is Underground Economy, and I mention off-handedly, “Wouldn’t it be nice if Jadefang spawned? So you got your mount, and I get a pet.”

“Yeah, right.”

Literally two minutes later, as we are killing gyreworms under Jadefang’s ledge…

 _NPCScan: Found “Jadefang”!

At which point we just start laughing. And a few minutes later, having killed Jadefang with my tiny little 5k damage lightning bolts (and the help of my fire and earth elementals), and I’m the happy owner of a tiny, adorable baby shale spider.

Leave a comment