Long-awaited altdrake

As I’ve mentioned before, my death knight originated on a roleplay server. She wears the Ashen Verdict title, she runs around with Frosty out (on the roleplay server, I had as a minor plot point of her backstory that she’d raised the whelp herself, and it decided to keep following her around after the events of Light’s Hope), and her transmogrification is fairly standard dark-death-gloom death knight stuff.

Ever since I got hilariously lucky during the Halloween event (back when event mounts and pets were still drops from the event boss), she has been using the headless horsepony as her flying mount of choice – but what I really wanted for her was a frost wyrm, to go with the frost whelp.

I’ve had the non-heroic achievements for the ICC10 Glory completed since WotLK, but didn’t manage to get heroic kills of Putricide, Blood Princes and Sindragosa before Cataclysm dropped. Well, an ICC10HM PuG shouldn’t be hard to find, right?

Riiiiiiiiiight. No. Lots of ICC PuGs being formed on the server, but they were all for ICC25 heroics, since most people just want Shadowmourne at this point. Ugh.

Then a few days ago, around 3 in the morning (I couldn’t sleep, so sue me), I was poking around at auctions on my bank alt when I saw somebody looking for a few DPS for an ICC10HM PuG. I debated with myself for a bit (late-night PuGs are very rarely successful), but then figured hey, what have I got to lose?

Three things became quickly evident upon my joining the raid group: the raid intended to do the normal achievements together with the HMs, the raid leader had just enough knowledge to be dangerous, and one of the healers was so drunk he couldn’t even type straight, never mind heal.

Then we got summoned in, and the raid leader showed he was also very confused on which raid member filled which role – he kept telling a healer to go pull, and any attempts to set him straight were met with silence.

This’ll go so well, I remember thinking.

We killed Marrowgar uneventfully. We wiped once on Lady Deathwhisper, to a botched attempt at doing Full House, then killed her with the achievement by the skin of our teeth. By that point, the leader was also fairly grumpy at me, as I’d pretty much full out called him an idiot when he mis-called killing Deathwhisper for Full House (we got lucky and she changed the last add we needed on the transition).

I refused to shut up, and by the time we got to Putricide not only the raid leader was no longer angry at me, but he was actively asking me to assist with strategy. (Ah, the wonders of actually being right…)

Putricide went down, then the Blood Princes. Blood Queen Lana’thel was a mess. Two of the people who needed to be bitten for the achievement had no clue how the bite worked. We wiped once to the berserk timer (due to misbiting), and killed her the second time by the skin of our teeth, with two people getting mind controlled and only one person left standing by the end of it all.

Which left me only needing Sindragosa. But Valithria, the healing fight, was in the way, and by that point, the drunk healer kept falling asleep, and the other healer we had wasn’t exactly spectacular.

We had a slot free, so I logged my priest (reason #1768 I’m glad I have two accounts) and healed Valithria.

Sindragosa was also a mess, with half the raid dead after the air phase courtesy of people who had no idea what to do with the frost tombs and went and hugged people.

But at the long last I got my frost wyrm!

(And then I politely excused myself. At that point, I was sleepy, and the raid wanted to attempt Lich King HM and Been Waiting a Long Time for This at the same time. No. Just no.)

Leave a comment