Two-manning: Vault of Archavon 10man

We did this a few days ago, but I only just now got around to posting it. There really isn’t much special about VoA (and if you wonder why bother to do it, the answer is “Grand Black War Mammoth“), although some bosses can be a huge pain to kill due to their mechanics.

Archavon is pretty much a pushover. I started tanking him with my pet and Alieth was DPSing as enhancement. He does pick up pets, so we ended up taunting him with my main.

Koralon is also pretty much a pushover. He does hit hard, and Alieth was spending Maelstrom Weapon procs on healing my pet, but otherwise he’s easy. My main died sometime midfight because well, she wasn’t doing anything so why bother keep her alive?

Emalon wiped us a few times before we settled on a winning strategy. Said winning strategy boiled down to “ignore the adds”. I tanked Emalon with my hunter’s pet, while Alieth was restoration keeping himself and my pet alive; adds would inevitably go on him, and overcharged adds would explode. He healed through the damage, I burned Emalon down.

Toravon was the hardest. The DoT he applies stacks… well, pretty much to infinity and beyond. What we ended up doing was keeping Alieth as restoration, tanking Toravon with my pet, and once my pet had 20+ stacks of the DoT my main taunted Toravon and started taking DoT stacks. Alieth healed my main as much as he could, but eventually my main died (because the pet version of Taunt, for some reason, does not seem to work on the VoA bosses), and at that point the DoT on my pet had fallen off and my pet could pick Toravon back up. Alieth also took care of Frost Orbs (since he’s specced into Telluric Currents, it helped regen his mana).

And of course, no mount dropped. For all the clearing of old content we do, the only thing we’ve had luck with is Thori’dal in Sunwell. No mount from VoA, Malygos or Tempest Keep, and Illidan the bastard still hasn’t coughed up my blindfold. Here’s to better luck in the future.

Leave a Reply

