Changes to valor points and daily dungeons in 4.1

A blue post explains the upcoming changes to the daily random dungeons in 4.1.

Normal random heroics will still give 70VP each; normal troll heroics (ZG and ZA) will give 140VP each.

In other words, if you’re geared enough that you can successfully run the troll heroics, you get rewarded with extra valor points in addition to epic items. This makes perfect sense to me – they’re more difficult, hence they provide a greater reward, similarly to raid encounters.

Troll heroics will be on a different random heading in the RDF, so you can queue for a random troll heroic specifically.

This makes me really happy. On my main, I’m at the point where I need absolutely nothing from normal heroics. (Well, except for one item, and considering the item is at the end of SFK and it’s a relic for my feral DPS offspec – I think I’ll survive using the same relic I’m using for tanking.)

What this means is you can chain-run the troll heroics. Back in WotLK, when I still needed gear from the Icecrown heroics (mostly for my army of alts), I used to queue specifically for them first, then, if I had the time, run a few randoms and hope I’d RNG onto them again. No need to do this with the troll heroics – just queue and queue and queue and queue as long as you want.

This also removes the risk factor of running those heroics with a random PuG. Say you want a specific drop from the second or third boss in ZG but your PuG killed the first boss then dissolved – just queue again.

The method of rewarding VP from random heroics has changed from “one per day” to “seven per week”.

This means you can run all seven of your randoms in a single day, if you so wish, rather than be forced to log in every day to run one random. And I personally want to find whoever is responsible for this change and hug them.

I don’t always feel like running a random dungeon every day. And even if I do, I have multiple characters at 85 by now, and sometimes I don’t feel like playing one of them, but I do feel like running multiple random dungeons with another. This change removes the “well damn, I want to [play character X / level another alt / go do something that isn’t WoW for once], but if I do that I’ll miss out on my daily VP for my main” issue.

There is a soft cap of 980VP earnable each week from heroics.

The overall weekly cap is still 1250VP, and if you want to hit that you still need to raid. If you can only ran normal heroics, you can earn 490VP from that (70 x 7); if you are capable of running troll heroics, you can get 980VP just from those (140 x 7), or from a combination of those and normal heroics. What you can’t do is earn more than 980VP per week: if you run all 7 VP-giving troll heroics, you won’t earn any VP from running normal heroics.

Good changes are good. I’m definitely looking forward to not feeling like I have an obligation to log in each day because “I need to do my daily heroic”.

Leave a Reply

