Gold from silver: Dry Yeast and Noble Hops

Shortly before patch 4.0.6 hit, I read a post on Kaliope’s Crafting weblog (which I keep meaning to link from the sidebar) about the introduction of a cooking goodie bag, randomly containing Cocoa Beans, Noble Hops and Dry Yeast. The bags would then become the only source of these cooking reagents, which prior to 4.0.6 were freely available in unlimited quantities from the same vendors which sold recipes for tokens.

So I went and stocked up, since I really hate having to buy crafting materials with limited tokens. Bought two stacks of each. Now I’m wishing I’d bought more.

See, the cooking bag is apparently bugged at the moment. It’s theoretically meant to be on a rotation; right now, the only bag showing up on the vendors is the one containing only Cocoa Beans.

Which means I sold my stockpile of Dry Yeast and Noble Hops for quite a lot of gold. If you also stocked up on them before the patch, I’d sell them now, before the bug is fixed. By the time they get around to fixing it, you’ll probably have spare tokens to buy the bag with if you desperately need them (I know I will – I’m just missing 6 3-token recipes, which means another two weeks of doing the daily with some moderate luck with 2-token quests).

On a side note, two other cooking-related vendor items that may sell are Tropical Sunfruits and Highland Pomegranates. I had spares after using them in recipes to obtain The Cataclysmic Gourmet, since they’re sold in stacks of five, so I figured I’d toss them at the AH just in case – and they sold. For 10g each. (Each stack of five is ~2g or so from a vendor, not counting reputation discounts and the like.) It’s worth a try – even if they don’t sell, you’ve not lost a huge upfront investment.

Leave a Reply

